Page 240 - Jewish Book Annual Volume 21

Basic HTML Version

e w i s h
o o k
n n u a l
2 3 4
A total of 148 libraries of Jewish Community Centers, Jewish
schools, synagogues and other agencies have been awarded the
citations. The following libraries received citations in 1963:
Temple Beth Israel Library
Phoenix, Arizona
Temple Israel Library
Swampscott, Mass.
Ada L. Goldberg Library
Temple Emanuel
Westwood, N. J.
Lewis E. Flax Library
Lincoln Park Jewish Center
Yonkers, N. Y.
Temple Israel Library
West Palm Beach, Fla.
Miriam S. Cohen Memorial
Oakland Jewish Center
Bayside, N. Y.
Fairmount Temple Library
Cleveland, Ohio
Israel and Libby Mowshowitz
Hillcrest Jewish Center
Flushing, N. Y.
Temple Sinai Library
Lawrence, N. Y.
Frank and Ethel S. Cohen Non-Fiction Award
A new annual award for the best American non-fiction book
of Jewish interest was established in 1963 by the Council through
a grant from the ESCO Fund Committee, Inc. Named the
Frank and Ethel S. Cohen Award, it includes a citation and a
cash grant of $250. Only books originally written in English
are eligible for the award. Books restricted in subject matter
or manner of presentation to a specialized audience are not
The first Frank and Ethel S. Cohen Award was presented to
Dr. Moses Rischin for his
The Promised City: New York’s
(Harvard University Press, Cambridge). The
judges were: Abraham Berger, Dr. Bernard J. Bamberger, Jacob
I. Dienstag, Dr. Theodore Friedman, Dr. I. Edward Kiev and Dr.
A. Alan Steinbach.
Isaac Siegel Memorial Juvenile Award
The Isaac Siegel Memorial Juvenile Award consisting of $250
and a citation was awarded to Josephine Kamm for her
Re tu rn
to Freedom
(Abelard-Schuman, New York). The judges were
Mrs. David 1. Cedarbaum, Dr. Morris Epstein, Mrs. Deborah
Karp, and Mrs. Deborah Pessin Margolis.
Harry and Ethel Daroff Memorial Fiction Award
The Harry and Ethel Daroff Memorial Fiction Award, also
consisting of $250 and a citation, was given to Isaac Bashevis