Page 218 - Jewish Book Annual Volume 24

Basic HTML Version

e w i s h
o o k
n n u a l
Jacob and Jennie Netzky
Memorial Library
West Oak Lane Jewish
Community Center
Philadelphia, Pa.
Temple Beth Jacob Library
Redwood City, Calif.
Harry Levin Memorial Library
Temple Emanuel
Ridgefield Park, N. J .
Temple B ’nai Sholom Library
Rockville Centre, N.Y.
Library of Temple Judea
Skokie, 111.
B ’Nai Jacob Library
Woodbridge, Conn.
Harry and Florence Kovner Memorial Awards
It is gratifying to report that through the generosity of the
donors of the various literary awards the amount of each award
was substantially increased. This enabled the Council to dis­
tribute in 1966 a total of $2,450 to award winners.
For the first time in several years three poetry awards of $250
each and citations were granted. The recipient of the award for
Yiddish poetry was Kadia Molodowsky for her
Licht fun Doren-
(Kiyum, Buenos Aires). The judges were distinguished Yid­
dish authors and literary critics: Moshe Starkman of the
Day-Morning Journal,
Hyman B. Bass of the Congress of Jewish
Culture, and Yudel Mark of the Jewish Education Committee of
New York.
Ruth Finer Mintz, author of
The Darkening Green
(Big Moun­
tain Press, Denver) was the recipient of the English-Jewish poetry
award. The judges were Dr. A. Alan Steinbach, editor of the
Jewish Book Annual
and of
In Jewish Bookland,
Leo W. Schwarz,
noted author and anthologist, and Dr. Judah Stampfer, poet and
The Hebrew poetry award was presented to Dr. Simon Halkin
Ma’avar Yabok
(Am Oved, Tel Aviv). The judges were Dr.
Jacob Kabakoff, dean of the College of Jewish Studies, Cleveland,
Dr. Milton Arfa, professor at Hunter College, Dr. Eisig Silber-
schlag, dean of Hebrew Teachers College of Boston, and Dr.
Robert Alter, professor of English, Columbia University.
Leon Jolson Award
Zosa Szajkowski, author of the
Analytical Franco-Jewish Gazet­
teer, 1939-1945
was the recipient of the first annual award consist­
ing of $500 and a citation for an outstanding book dealing with
the Nazi holocaust period. The judges were Dr. Abraham G.