Page 272 - Jewish Book Annual Volume 28

Basic HTML Version

e w i s h
o o k
n n u a l
2 6 6
Harry and Ethel Daroff M emorial Award
The Harry and Ethel Daroff Memorial Fiction Award is pre-
sented annually by Mr. Joseph Daroff. Inaugurated in 1948, it is
the oldest continuous award presented by the Jewish Book
Council. The judges were Harold U. Ribalow, well-known literary
critic and author of a dozen books; Dr. Charles Angoff, noted
author, professor of English literature at Fairleigh Dickinson
University and two-time recipient of the Daroff award; and Dr.
Dan Vogel, professor of English literature at Yeshiva University.
The judges selected Leo Litwak’s
Waiting for the News,
lished by Doubleday. Dr. Litwak has taught philosophy at Wash-
ington University and is now in the English department of San
Francisco State College. He has written for the
New York Times
Sunday Magazine, Commentary, Midstream
and other magazines.
Many of his short stories are included in anthologies, including
Great Jewish Short Stories,
edited by Saul Bellow. His current
Waiting for the News
takes place in Detroit between 1938 and
1943 and is set against the background of the Nazi advance across
Europe. Dr. Litwak has relied heavily on his experiences in pre-
World War II Detroit, where he was born and raised. His father
like Jake Gottlieb who is the protagonist in the novel, is a well-
known labor leader.
Frank and Ethel S. Cohen Award
The Frank and Ethel S. Cohen Award for a Book on Jewish
Thought is presented by the ESCO Fund as a memorial to the
late Frank Cohen and in honor of Mrs. Ethel S. Cohen. The
judges were Abraham Berger, former chief of the Jewish Division,
New York Public Library; Dr. Sidney B. Hoenig, professor of
Jewish history at Yeshiva University; Dr. Joseph L. Blau, profes-
sor of philosophy at Columbia University; Dr. Ben Zion Bokser,
rabbi, Forest Hills Jewish Center and noted scholar, and
Dr. Menahem Schmelzer, librarian of The Jewish Theological
Seminary of America.
The five judges unanimously selected for the award Professor
Abraham Joshua Heschel’s
An Echo of E tern ity,
by Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Professor of Jewish Ethics and
Mysticism at the Jewish Theological Seminary of America, Pro-
fessor Heschel is considered one of the foremost savants of our
time. While selecting his latest book, the judges called attention
to the score of books on Jewish history, philosophy and mysti-
cism, which Dr. Heschel has contributed to Jewish and world
literature. He has authored many major works widely acclaimed