Page 202 - Jewish Book Annual Volume 31

Basic HTML Version

the Holocaust literature. The judges for this award were Miss
Dina Abramowicz, librarian of the Yiddish Institute for Jewish
Research; Mrs. Lucy S. Dawidowicz, professor of social studies at
Yeshiva University Stern College; Saul Goodman, director of the
Sholem Aleichem Schools; Dr. Shlomo Noble, author, teacher
and researcher at the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, and
Moshe Starkman, literary critic and publicist.
The judges selected for the award Dr. Aaron Zeitlin, distin-
guished essayist and poet, for his book
Veiterdike L ider Fun
Hurban un L ider Fun Gloiben Un Yanish Kortshaks Le tz te Gang
(More Poems of the Holocaust and Poems of Faith and Yanish
Kortshak’s Last W a lk ). Dr. Zeitlin was educated in Warsaw
where he was active both in Yiddish and in Hebrew literature as
author of verse, plays and essays, as well as editor, translator and
for many years, president of the Yiddish PEN Club. In New York
he was president of the Hebrew PEN Club. His plays were staged
by Maurice Schwartz and others. His collected Hebrew works are
currently being published in Israel. Until now he received 17
awards in Warsaw, New York, Paris and Israel. This is his 18th—
award. Dr. Zeitlin is recognized as one of the leading literary
luminaries throughout the world. He was born on May 20, 1898,
and we are pleased to extend to him our warm congratulations
on his 75th birthday.
For the first time, we are presenting an award for a book on Jew-
ish history. This award is being made possible by Mr. Bernard H.
Marks who for many years was associated with the Hebrew Pub-
lishing Co. and has been very active over the years in Jewish edu-
cational and Zionist circles. We are indeed grateful to Mr. Marks
for initiating this award, as there are today many outstanding
Jewish historians who merit the recognition which the award rep-
resents. The judges for this award were Dr. Martin A. Cohen,
professor of history at the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute
of Religion in New York; Dr. Sidney B. Hoenig, chairman of the
faculty of the Bernard Revel Graduate School of Yeshiva Uni-
versity; Dr. Nathan Kaganoff, librarian and editor of the Ameri-
can Jewish Historical Society, and Dr. Michael A. Meyer, profes­