Page 229 - Jewish Book Annual Volume 34

Basic HTML Version

/ 1976
Dr. David Sidorsky, professor of philosophy at Columbia Uni­
versity. The judges were unanimous in agreeing to present the
award to Dr. Solomon B. Freehof for his work entitled
porary Reform Responsa,
published by the Hebrew Union
College Press.
Dr. Freehof has been the rabbi of Rodef Shalom Temple in
Pittsburgh since 1934, and is now rabbi emeritus. He was one
of the first Jewish chaplains to serve with the American Expedi­
tionary Forces during World War I. He has been president of
the Central Conference of American Rabbis and of the World
Union for Progressive Judaism. A member of the Executive
Board of the Union of American Hebrew Congregations and
for many years one of the leaders in the chaplaincy program of
the National Jewish Welfare Board, he is the chairman of the
Responsa Committee of the Central Conference of American
Rabbis. A distinguished scholar, he is the author of
A Com­
mentary on the Book of Psalms, Modern Jewish Preaching, A
Small Sanctuary, Reform Jewish Practices
and other erudite
works. One of the leading specialists in responsa literature, he
is receiving the award for his latest volume in this field. Rabbi
Freehof’s “ Responsa” reveal his wisdom and depth of compre­
hension, his concern for tradition and his awareness of the com­
plexities of modern society and the role religion plays in it.
In a sense this book reflects the problems and anxieties of world
Jewry and points up the changing role of religion in our time.
He has published six different volumes dealing with Responsa
literature and his decisions play a significant role in the Reform
This year, for the second time, we are presenting an award for
an English translation of a Jewish classic. The award is being
given in the name of Rabbi Jacob Freedman, founder of the
Jacob Freedman Liturgy Research Foundation; publisher, editor
and translator of the
Polychrome Historical Haggadah
o f the forthcoming
Polychrome Historical Siddur.
Rabbi Freed­
man is one of the leading rabbis in this country and we are
pleased that this award in his name has been made possible.
The judges for the award were Dr. Bernard J. Bamberger,