Page 242 - Jewish Book Annual Volume 34

Basic HTML Version

The Jewish Book Council functions through its Executive Board
and a number of committees which meet throughout the year.
The Board, under the chairmanship of Dr. Eugene B. Borowitz,
past president of the Council, met regularly. Among the matters
before it were policy questions, the theme of Jewish Book Month,
the adoption of new projects, the review of the budget, action
on committee reports as well as the consideration o f long range
goals o f the Council.
The Program Materials Committee, under the chairmanship
of David M. Kleinstein, initiated a number of new publications
that were issued during the course of the year. In addition to
the chairman, the members of the committee included Harold
Arian, Dr. Hyman Chanover, Dr. A. P. Gannes, Dr. Sidney B.
Hoenig, Dr. Jacob Kabakoff and Herman L. Sainer.
The Library Committee, chaired by Dr. Leonard Gold, and
including Abraham Berger, Dr. I. S. Meyer and Dr. Menahem
Schmelzer, supervised the publication of bibliographies issued
by the Council. The committee members reviewed and approved
the manuscripts before publication.
The Finance Committee, of which Dean David Mirsky is the
chairman, reviewed the Council's income and expenditures for
1975 and prepared the 1976 budget. It also recommended several
ways for increasing the income. The other members of the
committee are Dr. Alter F. Landesman, Dr. Emil Lehman, Leon
Rubinstein, Bernard Scharfstein and Mrs. Charles Schwartz.
The Nominations Committee consisted of Dr. Judah Nadich,
chairman, Dr. Azriel Eisenberg, Dr. Gilbert Klaperman, Dr.
Menahem Schmelzer, Harry Starr and Mrs. Victor Wouk.
A new committee was appointed to develop an inventory of
Jewish bibliophiles throughout the country. The committee conĀ­
sists of Herman L. Sainer, chairman, Dr. Chaim I. Etrog, Dr.
Leonard Gold, Abraham J. Kremer, Dr. Menahem Schmelzer
and Mrs. Victor Wouk. The committee outlined a plan for
gathering this information which is currently being put into