Page 90 - Jewish Book Annual Volume 35

Basic HTML Version

in the home; organizational activity on behalf of other Jews;
concern about Jewish problems such as intermarriage; loss of
Jewish identity; persecution of Jews in other countries; anti-
Semitism in America; support of Israel; and Jewish attitudes
about education, ethical behavior and responsibility? Jewish li­
brarians see as their goal the dissemination of literature which
is both enjoyable to their young patrons and reflective of serious
Jewish content.
From the inception of the awards, the number of juvenile Jew­
ish titles published each year has increased. In 1950, Jacob Golub
wrote that only eighteen children’s titles had been published
that year. T he following year, the first in which an award was
given, there were twenty-five titles. T he number of titles climbed
erratically year after year, hitting a peak in 1969 when sixty-six
were published. Since then, the number published each year has
fluctuated with the economy, averaging about forty-six books
per year. Whether this rise is due to the awards or to increased
growth in children’s book publishing and an increased market
for Jewish children’s books is hard to say—probably a b it of both.
From 1951 to 1966, with the exception of 1956 and 1957 when
the Temple B’nai Jeshurun Juvenile Award and the Pioneer
Women’s Hayim Greenberg Memorial Juvenile Award were
given instead, the prize for the best Jewish juvenile was the
Isaac Siegel Memorial Award. From 1967 to 1968 no awards
were made due to the lack of a donor. In 1969, the Charles and
Bertie G. Schwartz Juvenile Award was instituted. I t was con­
tinued down through 1976 with the omission of 1972.
The judges have included authors, publishers and educators,
including such names as Morris Epstein, Deborah Brodie, Debo­
rah Pessin Margolis, Bea Stadtler and Lloyd Alexander. Unlike
the Caldecott and Newbery Awards given by the American
Library Association, no polling of librarians takes place for
nominations of books to be considered.
Before we discuss the award-winning titles in the light of the
criteria mentioned above, i t is appropriate to list them in
chronological order. T he first winner was Sydney Taylor in
1951 for
A ll-O f-A -K ind -Fam ily .
Then came: Lillian S. Freehof