Page 91 - Jewish Book Annual Volume 35

Basic HTML Version

8 1
Stories of K in g D a v id
S tar L ig h t S tories
in 1952; Deborah
Pessin for
T h e Jew ish P eo p le : B ook Th ree
in 1953; Nora
Benjamin Kubie for
K in g So lom on ’s N a v y
in 1954; Sadie Rose
Weilerstein for “cumulative contributions to Jewish juvenile
literature” in 1955; Elma E. Levinger in 1956, also for her
cumulative contributions; Naomi Ben-Asher and Hayim Leaf in
1957 for the
Jew ish Jun io r E n cyc lop ed ia ;
Lloyd Alexander in
1958 for
B o rd e r H aw k : A ugu s t B on d i;
Sylvia Rothchild in 1959
K eys to a M ag ic D oo r : Isaac L e ib P eretz.
During the following years the awardees were: Regina To r
in 1960 for
D iscover in g Israel;
Sadie Rose Weilerstein again in
1961—the first author to have won twice (which is the limit)
T en and a K id ;
Josephine Kamm in 1962 for
R e tu rn to
F reedom ;
Sulamith Ish-Kishor in 1963 for
A Boy of O ld Prague;
Dov Peretz Elkins and Azriel Eisenberg in 1964 for
W o r ld s L o s t
and Found ;
Betty Schechter in 1965 for
T h e D reyfus A ffair;
Meyer Levin in 1966 for
T h e Story of Israe l;
tied in 1969 were
Charlie May Simon for
M a r tin B uber: W isdom in Ou r T im e
and Gerald Gottlieb for
T h e Story o f Masada by Y igael Yad in :
R e to ld fo r Young R eaders;
Sonia Levitin for
Journey to Am er ica
in 1970; Sulamith Ish-Kishor, the second author to win twice, for
T h e M a s te r of M irac le: A N ew N o v e l of the Go lem
in 1971;
Johanna Reiss for
T h e Ups ta irs R o om
in 1973; Yuri Suhl for
Uncle M isha ’s Partisans
in 1974; Bea Stadtler for
T h e H o locau s t:
A H is to ry of Courage and R esistance
in 1975, and Shirley Milgrim
H a ym Sa lomon: L ib e r ty ’s Son
in 1976.
Of the twenty-two titles tha t have won awards, eight were
fiction. Of these, only four were set in the twentieth century.
Two awards were given for the cumulative efforts of authors.
T he fourteen non-fiction awards were distributed as follows:
history-2; Bible stories and Jewish concepts-1; biographies-4; en­
cyclopedia-1 ; Israel and its archaeology-4; and the Holocaust-2.
In order to evaluate whether the awards have helped to im­
prove the quality of juvenile books it will be best to examine
each title in the light of the Jewish Book Council criteria and to
consider it as librarians for its use and readability.
A l l o f a K in d Fam ily
was and is warmly welcomed by
children, both Jewish and non-Jewish. The reader is invited